Hey, Soul-Sister (or Mister)

Standard

So, since the last time I posted on my blog, I turned 40. I don’t know how that happened, but it did. I really really panicked for the few months leading up to it, and amazingly, I’ve pretty much gotten over it now. I still feel the same inside, 19 years old to be exact. I wonder if I will ever NOT feel 19 years old anymore? Does our spirit stop aging (I didn’t say stop growing) at about 19-20 years old? Stuff to ponder…

Lots on my mind lately with getting to be this age. I don’t know where to go with it really, but I’m just going to type as the thoughts flow. Probably won’t edit them either or give them too much thought. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about relationships, those people closest to us, friends, soul connections to be exact. I am craving deep soul-connections, and not just superficial day-to-day “how are you doing?” connections. Real deep connections. I think we truly only find a few real deep connections within our lifetime. Those people that the moment you meet them a spark is ignited, an inner-awareness that you’ve met before, or that you have been destined to meet. Some of these people we can meet as children and through time and distance you still have that connection, even if it’s been years since you’ve spoken. Some people you meet as adults and it’s though there is no distance between you, even if you are thousands of miles away. You have that connection, that deep soul-craving for one another. That’s what I crave, deep connection. This kind of connection shouldn’t be limited to the same gender as you, nor should you be afraid that if it is someone other than your significant other that it is off limits. Connection is connection, on a soul-level. Why are we afraid of this, as humans? Are we afraid?

Maybe this is all that has really been on my mind lately and I had to just get this out there. I really do not like superficial relationships, those are what scare me and keep me closed off from who I truly am Life is too short for surface pleasantries. I’m not talking about the pleasantness that you deal to strangers, that is important too, of course. Why would you not share that with the world?

I am grateful for my soul-friends. You all know who you are (or should). I want to be near you, even in spirit, for you fill my heart with a longing that my day-to-day existence craves. Life is too short to settle for anything less.

4 responses »

    • Thank you my sweet Jocey…you are my favorite Canadian ;). If there was any reason in this world that I started this blog it was so I could meet you, my dear. Love love love you.

  1. I am glad that we are the soul type friends! Do you realize that because my very vocal daughter started a conversation with you, eight years ago, in a grocery store, we get to be friends! Wow, it is amazing how God brings the right people together!
    I agree that we all need fewer of the “Hi, how are you?” Friends, and many more of the souls friends in our lives. We really do not have room for many of these deep friends, but the ones we have are very special.

Leave a Reply

